June 25, 2024

Maritime Today Online

latest news and events in maritime and shipping

Amaechi’s name missing as Buhari nominates seven new ministers, sends list to Senate

Again, Buhari declines assent to Customs and Excise Amendment Bill

President, Muhammadu Buhari has nominated seven persons for screening and confirmation by the Senate for appointment as Ministers.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan read Buhari’s letter of request on the floor of the Senate, in Abuja, on Tuesday.

In the letter read by Lawan, the president said the nominees would replace the former ministers that resigned from his cabinet.

The letter read in part, “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the underlisted ministerial nominees for your confirmation.

The nominees are: Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State; Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State; Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State and Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State.

Others are: Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State; Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State and Odum Odih – Rivers State.

With this development, speculations that President Buhari will reappoint former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi has been put to rest.

Recall that Amaechi and three other ministers comprising Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio and Emeka Nwajiuba had all resigned to pursue their presidential ambitions, which however could not materialize.

The ministers resigned in accordance with the provisions of section 84(12) of the electoral act 2022.




WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
Enable Notifications OK Not now