February 3, 2023

Maritime Today Online

latest news and events in maritime and shipping

Anaroke bags Ikeja Club Excellence Award for gender advocacy

Editor-in-Chief of MMS Plus, Mr. Kingsley Anaroke

The Founder of MMS Woman of Fortune Hall of Fame (WoFHoF) Initiative, Mr. Kingsley Anaroke has bagged an Award of Excellence for Gender Advocacy and Empowerment from the prestigious Ikeja Club.

Anaroke and other distinguished personalities will be conferred the award on August 27th, 2021 when the Ikeja Club marks its 55th Anniversary at its premises, 23 Awolowo way, Ikeja, Lagos.

In a letter signed by the Club’s President, Mr. Ayodeji Randle and its Honorary General Secretary, Barr. Olugbenga Ajisafe, titled; “Letter of Invitation and Conferment of Award”, they commended Anaroke for the MMS WoFHoF Initiative’s  strides in bridging gender gaps and empowering women.

“We congratulate you on this well-deserved honor which is an encouragement for you to do more. We are hopeful that you will honor this invitation and have your family, friends, well-wishers and business associates to felicitate with you on this occasion of honour,” the letter read.

Ikeja Club was established on July 27th, 1966 at the instance of its founding members, who realized then, the need to have a serene place of Relaxation and Socialization after a hard Day’s work.

Over the years, subsequent executives of the Club saw the need to introduce other benefits for members such as: Business Lectures, Sectional Competitions, Inter – Club Competitions, Family Bonding events, Easter Celebrations, Ramadan Lectures, Children’s Events, Christmas Events and other events beneficial to human development.

As a tradition, the club celebrates its Anniversary annually with the induction of new members and Award conferment to some distinguished and outstanding individuals as well as Corporate Organizations with excellent performances in their various areas of specialization.

Other awardees to be celebrated at the Ikeja Club’s 55th anniversary include; the Oniru of Iru Kingdom, Oba Abdulwasiu Omogbolahan Lawal; President of Epe Club, Engr. Adebola Rasheed Shabi; Chairman, Golden Bet Lotto, Hon. Chief Idowu Osuolale Obasa; The Iyalode of Yoruba Land, High Chief Alaba Lawson; and former Chairman of Island Club, Chief Stephen Ademola Dada.