June 24, 2024

Maritime Today Online

latest news and events in maritime and shipping

MWUN President General, Adeyanju emerges NLC Deputy President

Maritime workers union suspends strike notice against shipping companies as Shippers’ Council intervenes  

President General, Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, has emerged as the Deputy President of the Nigerian Labour Congress at the ongoing 13th national delegates conference holding in Abuja.

Comrade Adeyanju who contested alongside Comrade Joe Ajaero as the NLC President, were returned unopposed including incumbent National President of the National Union of Petroleum and  Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) Comrade Williams Akporeha who also emerged unopposed as National Trustees.

Adeyanju, alongside other executives will be serving in the next four years.

Other executives returned unopposed include Comrade Audu Titus Amba, representing the Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT), and Comrade Kabiru Ado Sani, representing the Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria (MHWUN). Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji  who clinched the position of the National Treasurer unopposed, represents the Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE).

The position of the Vice President went to Comrade Benjamin Anthony representing Amalgamated Union of Public Corporation, Civil Service Technical and Recreational Services Employees(AUPCTRE); Comrade Stephen Igho Okoro – National Union of Civil Engineering Construction, Furniture and Wood Workers (NUCECFWW); Comrade Michael Akuma Nnachi – National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM); and Comrade Oluwole Sunday – Nigeria Civil Service Union (NCSU).

Other executives include Comrade Marwan Mustapha Adamu of Judicial Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN), Financial Secretary; Comrade Babatunde Goke Olatunji – National Union of Chemical, Footwear, Rubber, Leather and Non-metallic Products Employees (NUCFRLANMPE), Comrade Mohammed Haruna Ibrahim – Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU); and Comrade Garba Ibrahim of National Union of Food, Beverage and Tobacco Employees (NUFBTE) were returned unopposed as  Internal Auditors.

For Ex-officio, the occupants are; Roselyn Uba-Anarah – Nigeria Union of Public Service reportorial, Secretarial Data Processors and Allied Workers (NUPSRAW), and Professor Member Euginia George-Genyi of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU)

Speaking at the conclusion of the delegates conference on Tuesday, former President of NLC, Comrade Adam’s Oshiomole showered encomium on the fresh set of executives and expressed confidence that they will deliver.

Oshiomole also expressed delight at the rancor free proceedings, noting that it was the first time in the history of the labour movement that its leadership is being returned unopposed.



WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
Enable Notifications OK Not now