October 4, 2023

Maritime Today Online

latest news and events in maritime and shipping

Sambo to declare open Maritime Editors 2022 Retreat December 8

FG declares Funtua port of origin, final destination

The Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo, will declare open this year’s Retreat  being organised by the League of Maritime Editors (LOME) on December 8.

The Retreat which comes up at Airport Hotel in Lagos will include lecture and award ceremonies.

According to a statement released by the Public Relations Officer of the association, Francis Ugwoke, part of the programme lined up for the retreat is a lecture involving maritime stakeholders who will be discussing industry issues.

“The theme of this year’s retreat is titled ‘Lekki Deep Seaport: Identifying Gains, Challenges and Potential Threat to Lagos Ports’, and will be handled by the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Mohammed Bello Koko.

“The lecture  shall  dwell on the expected gains and  challenges of having a  new deep seaport.

“Believing that the Lekki Deep Seaport will lead to severe competition, the paper is also expected to  dwell on the likely threat that  the new  deep seaport will pose to the existing Lagos ports considering the infrastructural decay in the system and Apapa port environment that has become a nightmare to shippers,” the statement said.

Among stakeholders expected to deliver papers on the occasion  include the   Chairperson of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess Vicky Haastrup.

Click advert for full details

Sambo has been invited as the Chief Guest of Honour while the Executive Secretary, Nigerian Shippers’ Council, Honourable  Emmanuel Jime, will be the Chairman of the occasion.

Part of the retreat is presentation of awards to  the  Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo and few corporate individuals who  have distinguished themselves in their professional field of calling.

Among those to be conferred with awards include the Comptroller General of the Nigeria Customs Service,  Col. Hammed Ali (retd); Director General of the Nigeria Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, Dr. Bashir Jamoh; Managing Director,  Nigerian Ports Authority,  Mr Mohammed Bello Koko; Chairman, Skellas Group, Prince Olayiwola Shittu; and Chairman, Sifax Group, Chief Dr.Taiwo Afolabi.

The award recipients were selected considering their different contributions to the maritime industry.

The League of Maritime Editors is a foremost maritime Journalists Association based in Lagos spanning over two decades of existence. All our members are esteemed members of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ Lagos Council.




WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
Enable Notifications OK Not now